Stability issues on Raspberry Pi

I’ve been running Volumio on my Raspberry Pi for a couple of months now. I started with version 1.1, but found it to be slightly unstable. It would become unresponsive and stop playing, but I’d still be able to log in over SSH and reboot. This would “fix” the problem for a couple of days.

To see if stability was improved in 1.2beta, I recently switched to this version (full SD card re-install). It seemed to run better, but yesterday, it completely failed. The Pi went into “zombie” state, with no web gui, no audio and no SSH. Powering the PI down and back up did not help. The Pi would not get to the point where it connected to the network (not visible in Fing on Android).

Re-installing 1.2beta revived Volumio, which I guess rules out hardware issues.

Is anyone else experiencing with Pi’s running Volumio 24/7 (although not always playing music)? Any thoughts on why Volumio would randomly crash and be unable to boot?

Mine is on 24/7 and I had the same issue. I enabled crontab then I make the Raspberry Pi do the following around 6am (i.e. when I’m in bed and not using it): reboot, restart MPD, mount my NAS (ignore this if you don’t have issues with losing the mount), and finally update MPD database.

I haven’t had any issues since. Here are the steps I take:

sudo nano /var/www/command/orion_optimize.sh

Look for the lines …

[code]if [ “$2” == “startup” ]; then

kill useless system processes[/code]

… then I added a “#” before “killall -9 cron” to prevent cron being killed (so it looks like this):

#killall -9 cron

Save and exit. Now that crontab is enabled from next boot, configure it to do the tasks:

sudo crontab -e

Then add the following to the bottom of the file:

5 6 * * * sudo shutdown -r now 20 6 * * * sudo /etc/init.d/mpd restart 25 6 * * * sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.180/public/Music /mnt/NAS —verbose -o user=admin,password=password,rw,iocharset=utf8,sec=ntlm 26 6 * * * sudo mpc update