Newbie Pi B+ setup questions

Hello forum! A noob here :slight_smile:

I’d like to build an affordable HiFi system powered by Volumio running on a Raspberry Pi B+ to listen to Internet radio and a ton of mp3 tracks stored in an external 2.5" hard drive. My aim is to use the system in a 13m2 room but I want it to be powerful enough for a 30m2 room if possible with a 2.0 or 2.1 config.

I’m not an audiophile and I have very limited knowledge of electronics but from what I read here in the forum it looks like these are the hw elements I would need:

• Raspberry Pi B+
  • Wi-Fi adapter
  • SD card with the Volumio image
  • An I2S DAC
  • An amplifier
  • A PSU
  • A pair of speakers
  • Cables

Connected like this:
Raspberry <-> DAC <-> Amplifier <-> Speakers

Am I right? Please correct me if I’m wrong.

So here are my questions:

1. Which DAC would you recommend? The list is huge but I see many people here use HiFiBerry DAC+ or IQaudIO Pi DAC+. Would you recommend any other? I’d prefer a plug and play solution but I’m open to a little bit of soldering and learning.

2. Which amplifier would you recommend? Many people in the forum use D class amplifiers based on TA3116 or TA2020 but many other of you are using other spare hifi amplifiers. How does a D class amplifier compare to a regular mid-range HiFi system? How much power is enough for such room? How about the sound quality? Any recommendations?

3. With the Raspberry Pi B some of you just use the Wolfson sound card without a DAC (and even amp). I guess both DACs and amps are built within the sound card, plus it provides many other inputs and outputs that not all DACs can offer.
    Now that Wolfson is releasing a new revision of the sound card for the B+ later this month, would you go for one of these instead of the DAC+AMP combo? Does the current Wolfson Audio Card for the Pi work with Volumio out of the box?