New to Volumio - stuck!

Hi there

I’m brand new to Volumio and I’m having a bit of trouble with it. I’ve installed Volumio onto an SD card and installed it in my Raspberry Pi 2, configured it to connect wirelessly to my local network and I can access the WebUI from my PC. There’s only one (rather large!) problem, I can’t see any of my music in the WebUI! I’m clearly missing something fairly fundamental here (but I haven’t yet found a step-by-step guide to refer to - is there one?). I’ve connected a USB hard drive to the RPi and if I SSH into the RPi from my PC and look at the file system I can see that it’s been automounted just fine and I can cd into it and see various folders that contain music. So how to I tell Volumio to look into these folders for my music?

Many thanks!
Bogester

OK, so Volumio has found music on my HDD but it’s only found a tiny fraction of what’s on there (I have some 40,000 files). Admittedly, the organisation of my files is not great. So, my questions are:

• Are there any rules about how files and folders should be organised?
  • Are there any tools in Volumio for tagging files?
  • How do I tell Volumio where to look on my HDD for music? (The HDD is 4 TB in size and only some of what’s on there is music.)
  • How does Volumio store library information? Can I ask Volumio to clear its library and start again?
  • Presumably all of this is documented somewhere…but where? The only documentation I’ve found is here: volumio.github.io/docs/User_Man … Guide.html

This mentions absolutely nothing about importing and managing the music library :frowning:

Thanks!
Bogester

Hi, when booting Volumio for the first time there are a lot of things that need to be set. I can imagine scanning all your files to determine whether it should be included and then write it to the database just takes a while on the Pi?

If you ever want to improve your library, you might try one of the following options:

• Musicbrainz Picard
  • TuneUp
  • MediaMonkey