Must Restart MPD After Long Pause

Hi! I’m relatively new to Volumio (about a year) and I am now running Volumio 3 on a Raspberry Pi 4 with my entire music collection on a USB3 stick in the top USB3 port on the Pi and use a USB2 output to an external DAC and amplifier. I am running “plain vanilla” with no multi room playback or add-ons.

I want to say at the outset that I think this is a fabulous music player and I am not registering a “complaint.” I am mostly just trying to gain some insight into the workings of the player. I am a rank novice with most things related to Linux / Debian, and I am barely functional in using SSH, although I consider myself reasonably computer literate.

I always access the UI through a browser from a PC. If I am playing music and then hit pause and don’t restart the music for about an hour or more the UI no longer responds to a number of commands. Most importantly, it will not resume playing when I hit the “Play” icon. I can have it display all my album covers, but it will not open a list of tracks on any album and it will not load any Web Radio stations or music tracks.

I can reach the “Settings” menu, though, and I have found that if the first thing I do when trying to resume playback is to go to Settings/Playback Options/Output Device and click “Save” (without making any changes) this restarts the MPD (“Player Successfully Restarted” message) and then I can resume playback.

I have tried to research this issue and found that other users have had similar concerns, even with earlier releases of Volumio, and I also run a different RPi under the moOde OS, and amazingly, it has the same problem. This leads me to believe that either there is some “universal” problem with the MPD or with the way my network is set up. It’s as if the MPD or the RPi somehow partially “locks up” when not accessed for an hour or more if it is not actively playing music.