Volumio with hifiberry dac and 3.5" touch screen

I hope I have posted in the right area.
As a newbie, I bought an RPi4, a DAC and a 3.5" touch screen thinking I could put them together to create a flac player. I have got to the point of the screen displaying using volumio’ plug in. The touch ability has not activated?
I accessed PUtty to add code. However, have no idea on how this is done. Can anyone shed some light on this process?
Thanks in advance

1 Like

Hi kp123,
the Touch Display plugin does not activate the touch function of a screen. Either this works out of the box (not for your screen obviously :wink:) or some adjustments / modifications have to be done manually from the CLI. What this is depends on the touchscreen so we need to know the brand and exact model name of your screen and how the screen is connected to your Pi.

Please also describe in detail what modifications you possibly already did.

Thanks for replying.
The screen is a MPI3508(from Aliexpress). It is connected to the RPi via 26pin connector. When I added the volumio miscellanea plug-in for the touch screen, the screen works and acts as a monitor, albeit, at the size of the display , it becomes unusable.
I have attempted to use Putty adding lines from a Google article titled "Tutorial 3.5 inch Display for Volumio.
I put each line in and pressed “Enter”. The exercise did not go as the description in the article suggested. I formatted the Sd card, loaded Volumio and tried again. It didn’t work.
I added ws-35b-v2 script to the Volumio boot files and tried again hoping that the instructions might read what was on the sd card. That didn’t work either.
I think there must be many that have this very basic, audiophile, RPi4 music player with DAC and touchscreen idea as a project. Volumio is great because it has taken care of the DAC.
The 3.5 player comes with image file but I dont know how and where these instructions are placed within the Volumio program.
Thanks
I