Volumio Review - Newbie

My Volumio Experience

Moving towards perfection! I have been using Volumio for around 3 months now and would like to share my thoughts with this review. Overall the software and Pi process are amazingly simple, inexpensive, provides outstanding sound and integration BUT there are a few things that I would like to see Volumio do to make this perfect. I have addressed those critiques in this review.

Set Up

I am running a Pi4 with Audiophonics 9038 DAC using the analog connectors to feed my Onkyo TX NR656 100 watt surround system with excellent speakers. I also connected the hdmi output to my TV so I can see the interface on the Big Screen. (More on that later).

Interface & Integration

Excellent interface in terms of maneuvering around, playing songs etc, see meta data. Display is nice and being able to control via the browser is awesome. Personally i use the classic view because it looks better on the screen. I also have the app which is very good and also discovered Flirc for my Harmony remote where I can control the Volume, Play/Pause, Next or Previous song. I can not control the menus with Flirc. It’s also nice that you can do OTA updates and load music on the SD card. I haven’t been able add my ITunes music library but I think that is because of my limited computer network knowledge. But seemingly you can connect anything to the Pi, networked or hard wired.

I am a sound freak so I use mostly Qobuz and some Tidal and the experience is pretty good. Everything comes through from Qobuz and happily my system has no problems playing the highest resolution of Qobuz 192/24. Really happy with that. Songs load instantly.