Volumio GUI with kivy

Hello all,

I’m looking to build my own stereo system from scratch using a Raspberry Pi and Volumio as base. Since I have a background in design that is where I chose to start this project, you can see a rough draft of what the final product is supposed to look like in the attached picture. The black square in the middle is a 7" colour screen, and that is where the problem starts; I would like to create my own custom GUI.

Thats a problem since I’m a total and complete noob when it comes to programming in general and python in particular. But I’m stubborn and the idea is to learn as I go. After some research online I found that it seems that the best/easiest way to create a custom GUI is Kivy. Unfortunatly I’ve been unsuccessful in trying to make it work with Volumio.

Has anyone had Kivy work with Volumio? Or does anyone have a better idea on how to make a custom GUI for the Raspberry Pi? Tried to find a similar project here but didn’t seem to find any, most are using the built in web-based UI.

Thanks
StefPlayOvalRend3Low.jpg

Nice design, looks really promising!

There are some audio-projects around based on the combination of a raspberry pi + (small) touchscreen with a GUI based on PyGame.

A basic desgin (mpd):
http://home.uktechreviews.com/Raspberry/Pi%20blog/files/RaspberryRadio.html

A colorfull design (mpd):
github.com/5Volt-Junkie/RPi-Tron-Radio

A design based on Mopidy:
github.com/9and3r/mopidy-touchscreen

a blog with PyGame UI basics:
http://jeremyblythe.blogspot.nl/2014/09/raspberry-pi-pygame-ui-basics.html

and…

Good luck and post some pictures of your “work in progress”

Harry

1 Like

It might be an idea to ‘limit’ yourself to modifying the HTML and CSS of Volumio instead of rebuilding the UI.

Volumio does a great job in what it does and has all the needed functionality without all extra bells and whistles that are seldom/never used.