volumio alexa plugin

Hi All,
The plugin is ready for beta deployment for whoever interested. It’s running nicely on my volumio rpi box :slight_smile:

github.com/alior101/Alexa-Volumio-Plugin

Thanks
Lior

Greeeeeat!!! So eager to try it! Time to buy an echo…
PS: Is there a way to make its configuration easier? Such as the MQTT user pass?

the plugin configuration indeed contains mqtt user/pass as well as broker host (it’s actually ALL the configuration needed).
the configuration of the mqtt broker inside alexa/aws is indeed hardcoded and could be improved I guess… I’m just a newbie with alexa configuration so maybe it will improve in the future (i’m also open for pull requests…)
lior

So a couple of things

1. I really like the idea of being able to control Volumio from an Echo, definitely a worthwhile addition.
  2. I copied all the files from GitHub to the rasp pi following the instructions, putting them in /data/plugins/user-interface/alexa/ and made the edits to /data/configuration/plugins.json and aws_lambda.py. I noticed a few minutes later that the user-interface folder was empty. Any idea what I did wrong?
  3. How does my Echo learn about the skill? This has me completely confused as your instructions only talk about edits in Volumio, I didn’t see anything to install / setup for the Echo.

Thanks,
pat.

Hi Pat,
re. 2 - if the plugin disappears, it means that /data/configuration/plugins.json was not updated correctly - please double check the plugin section was added under user_interface section.

re. 3 - you aer right, i omitted any instructions for alexa since amazon site has a very detailed (step by step) instructions - just google “how to add alexa skill” in amazon site and use the files (aws py file and utterence etc… files) when needed. I admit there is some learning curve related to alexa skill setting that I had to take also before having the system work (and also for MQTT I guess).

Just keep in mind the following flow