Volume balance (left, right)

Hi,

I use a Allo USBridge running Volumio almost daily to listen to headphones.
Because of what i presume is hearing damage i hear more with my left ear then my right which shifts imaging to my left.
It is beginning to really bug me, so i have been looking all over for a way to shift the volume balance slightly. i even tried modifying the SSH files, but that seems to be to complicated for me, as i have no knowledge of coding whatsoever.

Is there anyone that could help me with modifying the SSH files to change to volume balance, or is someone capable of making a plugin i could use? Any help would be greatly appreciated! :smiley:

1 Like

I could really use a LR balance function as well, hopefully also usable with the soft volume control and preferably not destroyed by a volumio auto update process. I believe there is a suitable alsa function, but I donā€™t get involved in low level business if I can avoid it.
I want it because the devices in my playback chain do not have LR balance function and my speakers are unavoidably offset from the ideal equi-distant position as well as one being stuck in an upper corner of the room, which skews the stereo image badly. LR balance would be helpful to correct or partly correct this.

This would make a very nice mini plugin, in my view, but any solution welcome.

1 Like

It is possible via the command line (via SSH), but itā€™s not a permanent solution. It will probably reset after a reboot, and probably needs software volume control to be enabled.
Try the code below (canā€™t test it right now) to shift the balance to 80% left, 20% right.

amixer sset Master 80%,20%

If that works, maybe they can incorporate it indeed.

SSH is a method of getting access to the ā€œbehind-the-scenesā€ (the command-line) of Volumio via another computer; it is not the configuration in itself. Check a quickstart guide on SSH and things will become clear, also how to run the aforementioned command.