VMWare?

Hi,

sorry to ask what might be an incredibly n00b question.

I am looking to spending a Christmas sabbatical working with Volumio. I am a developer, I love HiFi - what’s not to like.

I have checked the GitHub page and seen that VMWare is recommended.

As an OS X user, I use VMWare fusion, but am unable to work out how to use the provided VMWare virtual machine.

Can anybody advise?

Thanks

It’s OK

Managed to work it out - was able to load and upgrade the .vmx file…

Now to sort out the rest of the dev process :slight_smile:

You could also try the bèta 1 image for raspberry pi 2.

Thanks MobeyDuck

I was following the terse instructions on Github.

Is there somewhere else that explains the development flow in a bit more detail?

Sorry, I just really want to work on this, but am finding barriers beyond my current understanding. What do the other developers do?

In terms of progress I have got it to build the latest version on master (had to run an apt-get update before the libavahi-compat-libdnssd-dev library would install), but when I try to run it with

node index.js

I get the following error

info: Loading plugin “websocket”…
info: BOOT COMPLETED
Express server listening on port 3000
events.js:85
throw er; // Unhandled ‘error’ event
^
Error: spawn upmpdcli ENOENT
at exports._errnoException (util.js:746:11)
at Process.ChildProcess._handle.onexit (child_process.js:1046:32)
at child_process.js:1137:20
at process._tickCallback (node.js:355:11)
at Function.Module.runMain (module.js:503:11)
at startup (node.js:129:16)
at node.js:814:3

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Does anyone have an answer to this? I am getting the same from a fresh download today (first use for me).

Unlike the original post I have this running on a Virtual Box setup. I have run all of the primarily setup commends and also tried it following doing a sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get upgrade.