Updating Volumio SD card without losing own files

Good day,

As a linux newbie I spent an hour to figure out how to copy some music to Volumio’s SD Card (128 GB) to make my “micro Hi-Fi” system (RPi, DAC+Amp, Headphones) lighter and nicer.

Now that I have managed to copy the music files to /var/lib/mpd/music/SDCard/ everything seems to work just great! Now my question is: What would be the options to migrate to the next Volumio update (e.g. 1.3) without losing the files I copied?

Thanks and regards,
aeroborne

Well, I guess my concern turned into a real problem today. While playing, volumio suddenly lost connection. I was not able to load volumio from that SD card (128GB, one share used for mp3 storage) again. It runs from another card, which suggests that the card is corrupt. Correct me if you disagree with this conclusion.

Now, the issue is that I do not want to re-image the card and copy the music again (it takes hours). Do you have any ideas how I can restore a working version of volumio without losing the mp3 files on the SD card? Any hints are welcome. Thanks!

Cheers,
D

Unfortunately I have had (another) corrupted SD card with volumio. This will probably prevent me from using it again, since reinstalling the image to the SD, reformatting it (to store music on the remaining 127GB) and copying the music is too much of a hassle and happens way too often.
I am kind of disappointed considering the effort I have invested into making the system run.

Thanks anyhow for the effort in making the system. From what I gather, some of the users seem to not have this problem.

Kind regards,
Dee

What power supply have you been using? I’ve heard a not so good supply can corrupt sd cards.

Keep going Dee, consider your efforts as knowledge building. I know it’s hard to see the positives when we have a spent a frustrating period of time on something that in theory is straightforward.