Turning off USB to save power

Hi,
I currently have an issue were music stops and the only way I can get it back is to reburn Volumio to an SD card as it gets corrupted. I was sure it was a faulty rpi3b so I changed to an rpi4b (both using an Allo digione hat) guess what? It still happens. Loading raspberry OS shows low voltage even though I measure 5.12v going in. So I’m assuming I’m not delivering enough power. My PSU is capable of 3.5A. So to prove this, I’d like to turn the USB ports off as I read it can save 1A and therefore give me me a bit more headroom.
Can anyone tell me how to do this in simple terms please? I’ve never coded before so I need treating gently :wink: thanks

it could be that the power supply is not giving what i should i had that with a 5.2v 5amp power supply,
( in real life it deliverd max 1,5 amp )
can you measure your power supply? i switched back to a original 5.1 / 3amp supply and no low voltage anymore.

I’m definitely delivering 5.1v to the pi but I’m unable to check the current.

i had 5.2 Volt only the amps where missing.

I think turning the USB off will certainly help if I can find out how.

all i can find about it is this:

After the eeprom update (rpi-eeprom package version 11.0),
I can turn off the power via 
echo '1-1' > /sys/bus/usb/drivers/usb/bind 
Hermann
Dec 20 '20 at 20:01

// How to turn USB port power on and off in Raspberry PI 4 - Stack Overflow

Why will turning the USB ports off save you 1A? Better just to get yourself a good power supply (one that you can trust delivers the current advertised).

Turning off the USB is damn sight cheaper than buying a better psu. The one I have is a filtered linear unit that cost more than my wife knows. I don’t want to give up on it.
Anyway, I’ve just borrowed a USB tester so that proved its not power. With the Allo digione, it only pulls 0.61A which is way below the max output of the psu. I guess I’m back to square one regarding corruption issues.