Trying to setup Pi B+ for the 1st time but no audio

Hi All,

I just got a raspberry B+ and I would like one day to use the following setup:

Behringer UCA202 DAC
Freecom Mobile Drive
D-Link DWA-127 wireless
KRK Rokit 6 speakers

However, so far I am nowhere near achieving this dream. I can not even get a radio stream to play. Currently I am connecting with an ethernet cable and I can see Volumio from my laptop but that is it. If I connect speakers via headphone jack or via the above DAC I hear nothing. I’m not even sure if the radio station is playing so I don’t know if the issue is with the installation, the output, or me just being an idiot and not pressing the right button.

I am completely new to linux so I have no idea where to start. Any suggestions would be hugely appreciated. Please explain things to me like I’m 5 though.

Many thanks in advance.

Woo! I made a little progress! Some radio stations seems to work and some do not. Current working setup:

Pi B+ connected to network with ethernet cable
Sound playing out of headphone jack connected to headphones (Grado SR80)
Example of working radio station: VeniceClassicRadioItalia

Possibly helpful additional notes:
With the above setup the volume needs to be quite high e.g 90 is a comfortable volume
A working radio station will continue to count the time on the lefthand display, one that does not work will count for a few seconds (e.g 10s) and then reset to 0.
The sound quality with this setup, unsurprisingly, is not good at all. e.g continual hissing sound

DAC also works now. I did not have to do anything. I just plugged it in and it worked. The sound quality is now vastly better. No obvious issues with the sound at this stage but I have not checked very carefully.

No luck with the wifi still. I have absolutely no idea what is wrong, or where to start in trying to fix it.

Hi Jonny,
it you feel confortable with the command line please post the content of the file

/etc/network/interfaces