'this' and 'self'

Hi guys,

have just joined the team and am very happy to be contributing to the HiFi streamer that I now use on two rooms in my flat!

I wanted to open a discussion about something I see throughout the Volumio source code that I think could do with changing (possibly). I thought it might be a fun discussion :slight_smile:

BTW I am not a javascript expert in anyway, but think I know about this bit.

In nearly all the source code, at the top of every method, a reference called ‘self’ is made that points to ‘this’. The ‘self’ reference is then used exclusively to reference the current object. Most of the time this ‘self’ reference is entirely unnecessary and actually makes the code harder to read.

The only time you actually need to do this is when you wish the ‘this’ in an outer scope to be available at runtime in an inner scope that you are declaring - e.g. (in pseudocode)

This does not work

[code]function A() {

console.log(this); // resolves now to A

this.onSomeEvent = function() {
console.log(this); // resolves later to the function not A
}

}[/code]

This ‘this’ inside the function is lexically scoped at runtime to the function itself.

In normal javascript this is worked around by creating a ‘self’ reference to ‘this’ before defining the function

[code]function A() {

console.log(this); // resolves now to A

var self=this;
this.onSomeEvent = function() {
console.log(self); // resolves later to A
}

}[/code]

As far as I am aware this is the only time you need to create a reference to ‘this’, otherwise you can use this quite safely.

The problem I have is that creating a ‘self’ reference implies you are going to use it in a callback later, but most of the time that is not happening - it makes the code harder to understand. Only using ‘self’ when it is required will make it clearer what was intended (i.e. we are going to us this in a callback).

The latest version of the alsa controller index.js is coded in this style (I just updated it).