Sound output in volumio

Hi,

I’m a noob to Volumio, only installed it yesterday.

I have a pie 4 2gb with a connected touchscreen. I really wanted to connect the sound output to my soundbar which is Bluetooth
It also has wi-fi as well as having an aux output.
The settings only show hdmi & earphones. It can’t play through hdmi because the touch screen doesn’t have sound. What I’m I missing here or is it simply not possible. I can’t find any plugins for it under settings. I’m using the web interface as I’m terrible with SSH.
I also can’t get it to mount my network neither but I’ll leave that for now.

I can’t find anything on the forum on this, I must be searching for the wrong thing, I can’t be the only one

Volumio 3 Issues?

Please see: Volumio 3 issues: hints and solutions before posting a new issue.
(You’ll need to cut and paste the link)

----------------------------- Delete here & above before posting below -----------------

1 Like

Volumio is intended to be an audio receiver, not a transmitter, therefore it doesn’t have a bluetooth output option only a bluetooth input (paid service).

It also has wi-fi as well as having an aux output.

Are you talking about your sound bar here? If so do you mean that it has an AUX input. If your sound bar does have an aux input then you can set Volumio to use the “Headphone” output and use your Pi 4’s headphone jack to drive the aux input on the sound bar. This won’t be as good as using a decent I2S DAC hat, but should be good enough to get you enjoying Volumio.

I also can’t get it to mount my network neither but I’ll leave that for now.

Do you mean mount a network share, or connect to your WIFI?

Thanks so much for getting back to me Tim. An audio receiver? Perhaps this isn’t what need then. I wasn’t recommend this for a Jukebox player that runs with a touch screen.

Yes, sorry, the soundbar has an aux.

I really wanted an MP3 player that could play songs over my network connected HDD and use my soundbar as the speaker.