[Solved] Using Creative X-Fi SB1090 DAC with Volumio

Hi!

I am wrting because I am a little noob and I can’t make my DAC working with Volumio. I would be glad if anyone can tell me if there are any chances of setting it together.

My device: Raspberry Pi B
Volumio version: Lastest, 1.55
DAC: Creative X-Fi SB1090 (with remote)

At first attempt when I connected DAC to RPi it probably couldn’t handle simultaneous WiFi connection (through USB dongle) and DAC. Maybe not enough power. So now I have connected DAC using active USB hub, and it was detected as S51 (i see it in “Playback” tab on WebUI).
But I don’t know what to do next because there is still no sound :frowning: I tried changing Hardware/Software Mixer, but it didn’t help.
Thanks in advance for any help!

PS Sorry for my bad English :wink:

Mmmm… I don’t know how to help, really not much information here.
Try this:
Turn on Pi, with USB DAC attached.
Then, try to play anything. Do you have sound?

If not, connect via SSH and check the volumes with

alsamixer

If you can post a screenshot of what you see in alsamixer

Ok then. Just tell me what information do You need and I will provide it :wink: I am noob when it comes to Linux :slight_smile:
I turned on Pi with my DAC attached several times and it didn’t help :frowning:

I can’t change volume in alsamixer. Here’s what I see:

EDIT:
I don’t know why and how is that possible, but I have just heard startup sound from my speakers. The only thing I have done was running alsamixer over ssh. I didn’t reboot Pi. And it was running half an hour before that.
WebUI is working. AirPlay not.

After 2-3 minutes: AirPlay showed up on my iPhone. When pressed play there is no sound. Maybe few seconds of little noise (but not loud, just radom noise for second or two).
Still same view in alsamixer and no audio though USB DAC.