[SOLVED] ReplayGain help

Newbie here. I set up Volumio 2.201 on a new Raspberry Pi 3 a week or two ago with a Hifiberry DAC+. Working great; I use it as a DLNA renderer, streaming files from MinimServer on my NAS using Hi-Fi Cast on my Android phone as the control point.

The only thing I can’t figure out is ReplayGain, which I don’t believe is working. In the Volumio playback volume options, I have Mixer Type set to Hardware. But I don’t see a UI for ReplayGain.

I’d be grateful for any tips. I searched this board but wasn’t able to find a solution.

I was chatting with someone who suggested that I need to modify mpd.conf to turn replaygain on. I’m a total newbie to editing configuration files in Linux, much less on a headless machine, but I think I’ve pieced together the steps. Does everything below look correct?

1. Enable SSH here: ipaddress/dev
  2. Download PuTTY on my Windows machine.
  3. Connect PuTTY to ipaddress with username and password volumio.

I’m told Nano is the best bet for simple text editing. Is it already installed in Volumio?

If so:
4. nano -w /etc/mpd.conf
5. Ctrl + w, type “replaygain”, Enter
6. If the replaygain value is “off,” replace “off” with “auto”. If it is already auto, then mpd.conf is not the problem.

If “replaygain” isn’t in the file, then add "replaygain " to the file.

1. Ctrl + x to exit, Y to save the file.
  2. Reboot Volumio through the web UI and test.
  3. Disable SSH at ipaddress/dev

That looks ok, but be aware that /etc/mpd.conf will be overwritten if you alter playback options in the UI. Let us know how you get on. I had actually assumed that it was on by default, but I haven’t checked it :slight_smile:

I just went in to check it out and in the mpd.conf I found:

#replaygain “album”

Which, if I’m correct, means that the entire setting is commented out. I removed the # and changed the setting to “auto”. It’s too early in the morning here to properly test it, but I’ll try it later today and report back.