[SOLVED] Help for total beginner WiFi setup

Just installed Volumio to a USB flash drive. So far everything seems to work fine except I can’t get it to connect to the internet. I have wireless internet where I live and the Dell laptop the USB drive is on is connected. I notice on the list of things that come up when I’m booting into Volumio that what I think is the firmware for my wireless adapter is not found. The adapter is B43 something. I’ve gotten it to work with different versions of Linux so I wonder is there some way to get it working with Volumio. Can I install the files for my wireless adapter onto the USB flash drive some how? Hope you can help. Thanks

Yes, same procedure than with your other linux setup most likely.
You just need to log to Volumio console (function keys) or ssh to it from another machine and install your driver/firmware through command-line as usual.

Can you tell me how to log to a Volumio console? I think if I can get a terminal in Volumio while it’s running I can install the firmware for my wireless card. Thanks.

Alt-Fn or Ctrl-Alt-Fn (try a few Fonction keys, might be F1, F3, etc).
Then user:pass are volumio:volumio

Well I tried and tried but cannot get Volumio to work with my laptop’s wifi. Maybe they’re not compatible. I ordered a little USB wifi adapter that is listed here as working with Volumio so we’ll see how that goes.

Thought I would add I was looking for drivers again for my wireless card and found this. From a terminal I entered lspci -vnn -d 14e4: The results are below.

0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card [1028:000b]
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
Memory at fe8fc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities:
Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge

Yes BCM drivers can be quite complex to install sometimes: there are many options available: look at this.