[Solved] Can't make USB Wifi to work - TP-Link WN727N Ver 4

Hi everyone,

Bought the tp-link wn727n after reading about it’s compatibility with raspberry pi, only to realized that mine is ver 4 instead of ver 3 that is listed as compatible. :frowning:

Tried looking at raspberry forum and they already directed me to the right driver, but after tried it still no luck.

Is there anyone can help me with this?

And upon looking on the list of compatible wifi dongle list by michaelangelo, edimax dongle is listed as compatible, does it work right out of the box?

Thanks.

P/s: I’ve not sleep for few days already trying to figure this out… :frowning:
I’m totally new with all this Linux thing…

Hi!
Please, could you give us what return the command “lsusb” in ssh terminal ?
Type lsmod to see if you have drivers installed and loaded .
If drivers are loaded type “sudo iwconfig”.
You sould see three device :
wlan0 : wifi (if so it’s good!)
lo : loopaback
eth0 : ethernet.
So if it’s ok, go to the webUI / network and wireless connection set your SSID and your password if needed. Save change. You should see (I guess) a blinking light.
Let’s us know

Hi balbuze,

Thanks for the reply, I’ll post the pic of the command that you asked after this.

hi balbuze,

this is what i get when using your command:

lsusb

lsmod

sudo iwconfig

from lsmod i think the driver is loaded because i saw the “mt7601Usta” but that is only my guess.

also from sudo iwconfig, i think the ra0 is the wireless because it’s using ralink chip, and i’ve read at raspberry forum also regarding the ra0.

when looking at volumio network area, connection status for “Wired Connection” is “Connected” but for “Wireless Connection” the status is “No Wireless Interface Present”. :frowning:

i’m thinking of buying the edimax with hope that it would work, but i believe i’m already getting somewhere with this tp-link so any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks.

Hi !
Could please give what “sudo ifconfig” return ?