Shut down Pi with Volumio

Hi all. I am a complete beginner with both Pi and Volumio.
To date I have installed Volumio 2 on my new Pi 3 B+. I have my music collection on a large USB hard drive attached to the Pi
I can do everything that I should be able to do by loading the Volumio via it’s web page on my P.C.
I am outputing the sound to an existing Onkyo amp. and speaker set-up. I will be shortly buying a combined amp/dac hat and will probably go for the
Pi digiAMP+ from IQaudio ltd. I will be using my smart phone to install and run Volumio from at that stage.
Once I get to that stage I would like to add a push button shut down and status led to the front panel of the box which I am building to house everything. I may have a problem achieving this as I think the pins I need are going to be already used by the audio hat
In the meantime can I safely shut down the Pi using the shutdown tab in Volumio and assume that I can then safely cut the power?
Any other advice would be most gratefully received.

Mike

2 Likes

Maybe remotepi with external led?

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply XLISEC. Unfortunately I do not understand your answer.
My questions were -

1. Is it ok to shut down Volumio using the button in the menu and then pull the plug on my Pi safely. - ie put it to bed in the proper manner?

2. How can I add a status led and shut down button to my cabinet if the audio hat that I am using has already taken the pins normally used for that purpose?

Sorry, I will try explain this better. You try resolve issue with safe shutdown your raspberry pi with HAT. When you click on shutdown button in volumio UI. System stops right and safe. After that you can unplug wall wart power supply, if you want. If not, you can keep it plugged. Wall wart power supply is very effecient (it works as switching mode power supply).