Sd card reinsert?

Hi guys, question from complete newby, senior age :slight_smile: It’s about SD card. I have my Pi4 up and running, seems to be OK so far. I have flashed new SD card with Volumio, according to instructions. Should probably no problem to run it in Pi: I remove the original SD card, replace it with the Volumio SD-card and power up, installing Volumio.
After that, must I remove Volumio SD card and replace with the initial card, or can I leave the Volumio card in the Pi, or can the SD slot be empty? Main goal is to have a music streamer, I added usb-dac that gives great sound so far.
Thanks,
Paul
Netherlands

The OS is on the micro SD card, it boots from there each time. You need to leave it in.

the sd card needs to be in the rpi to run the system without it will not run

Thank you for quick responds, I already imagined that it would be like that, but I wasn’t 100% sure and I could not find a confirmation in the many documents I read. Then it’s better to ask before you get fed up with more issues since PI is new for me. But I’m gone like it, that’s for sure, :grinning:
Br
Paul

Ai, too bad. I have put in the volumio card, it starts and then says:
Raspbian GMU/ Linux 8 volumio tty1
Volumio login: (I entered Volumio)
Password: (I entered volumio2)
but it keeps coming back with same questions on login and password.
I meanwhile created volumio-id, it was confirmed to me by mail, but it still asks for login and pasword. On my tablet I have volumio app up and running and my pi is connected over internet and following the manual from volumio site. Did I mis something somewhere? Checking the net now for some clues
BR
Paul

Volumio is designed to run “headless”, ie without keyboard, mouse and monitor.