RPI2 running 1.55 keeps dropping wifi connection - help

Hi

I’m a newbie running volumio 1.55 on a RPi2 and everything seems to be running fine except that after a few minutes I loose my wifi connection and because I can’t access my network through good old cat5 my RPi dissapears into a blackhole. I’m currently using an Edimax EW-7811Un though this is the second USB adaptor this has happened with. Hopefully it’s something simple that I’m missing.

Many thanks!

Robert

Try this:
Create a new 8192cu.conf file (using the nano editor) in the following location
/etc/modprobe.d/8192cu.conf

insert the following code

options 8192cu rtw_power_mgnt=0 rtw_enusbss=0

This will disable the power management and prevent the wifi (ew-7811un) from going to “sleep”.

Thanks for this! I will give it a go when I’ve figured out a few things lol. Ive done a search on google and dropping wifi connections seems a pretty regular problem for Raspberry pi’s :frowning:

Just to clarify.
The wifi dongle Edimax EW-7811un and many similar wifi dongles very popular with the raspberry pi ship with power management enabled by default. If left idle for a short time the Ew-7811un goes into power saving mode and the wifi connection is lost. In order to disable power management implement the code in my prior post. The wifi connection will now be always up.

Hi,

Right, progress to date… Being a complete newbie to rpi I’ve slowly worked out nano and followed your instructions but when I come to save it all I get is ‘error writing /etc/modprobe.d/8192cu.conf: permission denied’

Any ideas? I sense that I’m getting closer at least lol.

Many thanks,
Robert