Rpi 2/b+ Nad D3020

Hi,

First of all, I want to aplogize if this thread is not in the right forum and I’ll be happy to change it. As english is not my native tongue, I’ll do my best to be as clear as possible.

I’m pretty new to this “hifi world” and got interessted in it a year ago. My first purchases (and current gear) are a pair of “Monitor Audio Bx5” and a “Nad D 3020”. As a temporary set-up, my macbook pro is my main tool: Async Usb --> NAD (for the sound: music and movies) and HDMI–> TV (for the image).

I used to have a “Lacie Lacinema Classic HD” plugged in the Nad through: the optical, coaxial and RCA… In every case,I found the sound poor and weak (I had to turn the amp really on to get a normal volume) in comparison to the Sound from my Mac, PS4 and Blu-Ray player. In brief, the solution with the mac (maybe not optimal, but to me, it is, really) replaced the one with the Lacie.

However, that set up takes some room and I wish I could reduce it. That’s why I’m here (sorry for the long intro). I’ve been thinking about the RPI for a while and have been reading lots of threads about it. Still, it’s pretty hard for me to sum all this infomation up.

Ideally, I was thinking about plugging my (future) RPI in the Nad with a USB async cable and to the TV with the HDMI (like my “Mac set-up”)… However, I’ve read that the USB bus doesn’t work properly in some cases but works fine in some others… So, I can’t figure out if it’ll work with my DAC (Will the DAC manage the “master clock thing”, will the RPI cope with DTS audio, which my Lacie didnt,…).

I’m not an audiophile and certainly won’t be able to hear what some people here can hear. Still, I’m just looking for a small and “cheap” set up that can do better than my Lacie (of course) and may be as good as my mac (watch movies/listen to music with a decent sound!).