Really basic question about endpoints

Volumio Information

Volumio Version: 2.861
Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4B
DAC: iqAudio DigiAmp Pro

Hi

So apologies in advance. I am new to Volumio and have a very basic question that I cannot seem to find the answer for (trust me, I have looked!). So I have 4 or 5 Pi devices scattered around the house, and am looking to set Volumio up, but if I want to use each as an endpoint, do I need to install Volumio on each one?

And if not, how do I share from my Volumio ‘base unit’ (i.e. the Pi I have initially set up Volumio on, and attached my drive to containing my music library) to the others?

There, I‘ve said it - told you it was really basic! Thanks for any help on this :+1: :facepunch:

Each Pi device will need to have Volumio installed on its SD card, and will be able to operate independently. Each one will have a UI, controls, its own music database, the works.

The Volumio UI does have a sidebar with some ability to control what’s happening on other Volumio machines on the same local network, so you will be able to make any of your machines play/pause or adjust volume. You can then also change the UI target, so that you take full control of one of the other machines.

Obviously in order for this to work you will need your music library to be network accessible. This means either using one of the Volumio machines as the “master” which is physically plugged into the drive and exposes the library to the other nodes, or that you have a NAS setup which all the machines talk to to access the music.

I hope this helps to clear things up.

1 Like

Hi mcewan71,

You could also use the snapcast plugin for multiroom casting (though it is a bit tricky).
Read the instructions on the github project site. https://github.com/Saiyato/volumio-snapcast-plugin

br
Josef

1 Like

Hi @timothyjward and @Josh2000,

Thanks for your help in this - this was what I thought, so just needed it confirmed! Grateful for your time and replies :grinning: