Raspi 3 B+ does not start with volumio-2.587-2019-06-11...

Hello,

I am a Raspi user for quite a long time. So I know the main things.
E.g. I am experienced in writing SD cards to setup noobs or kodi.

But I am completely new to volumio and audio players in general.
The plan is to setup a new device that will be my volumio player.
Device is Raspi 3 B+. (Test with noobs -> raspbian is ok, also a Moode image booted)
And HifiBerry DAC+

To keep it simple at first, I connect no screen, no keyboard/mouse, no DAC.
Wifi is onboard.

1. I write the image to the SD card (volumio-2.587-2019-06-11-pi.img) (I also tried different cards which already worked for Raspi)
  2. I safely remove the card from the PC
  3. I put the card into the Raspi 3 B+
  4. I plug in the power (power supply is original Raspberry with 2.5A)
  5. Red LED gets on
  6. Nothing more happens: No green activity LED flashing, no Wifi access point after 5 minutes or after 5 hours

I also tried with Ethernet cable instead. No connect listed on the router.
There is no live at all and I have been trying since a week without any progress.

Back to a Raspbian SD card is ok again. So I want to conclude that there is no hardware issue.
It seems that this total failure is not usual. Did not find it with Google.

Thanks for your comments!
Jens

Well, first off I would check the image integrity by redownloading & comparing the extracted image’s md5 sum with the correct value.

Edit: Also make sure that on the first boot you leave the RPi with uninterrupted power for 5-10 minutes (stuff going on in the background).

Thank you chsims1.

I tried the download three times and made different SD cards.
Only the last download is present on my PC. MD5 check for that image is correct.

After power up of the raspberry I waited more than 5 hours to be sure, that I do not disturb initialization.

I had older raspberry models somewhere. Need to find it first…