Raspberry Pi3 + Allo Boss + LCD display?

I’m very new to this but have been running my Raspberry Pi + Volumio + Allo Boss for awhile. Amazing piece of work!
Is there a way to add a 2 line 16 character display? I see the BOSS J19 has the 5V, GND, SDA, SCL - can I use these? How do I address the LCD?

Something like this
amazon.com/Qunqi-Serial-Bac … ref=sr_1_1?

There was a post here: allo-boss-t5903-40.html
But I don’t understand the answer:

Any clues or documentation would really help - very new to this but having a lot of fun. :smiley:

Yes it is possible, but only over i2c, there are too few GPIO ports exposed for GPIO, unless you’re not affraid of soldering and voiding warranty or course. :wink:

You can find all the documentation you need on the Allo site.

Thanks Siyato - your post was the one I referenced. So the I2c is a “4 pin” (Vcc, GND, SDA, SLC) display ? That’s what I want to use. In your posting you mentioned something about the Boss board and address (0x4d) - how / what to I use to talk to the display? The Allo document says the Boss “uses” the SDA, SLC - is there a conflict?

I have the pin-out info on the Boss from the Allo site - are there any other documents on I2c communication / programming?
Do you have any references on the python code to do this? Sorry - really new to this and don’t know what to ask. Really appreciate your patience!

I see some examples like this: is this all you have to do to talk to the lcd? what address do you use for the lcd?

import lcddriver

lcd = lcddriver.lcd(0x???) #address of display
lcd.lcd_display_string(“line1 string”, 1)
lcd.lcd_display_string(“line2 string”, 2)

Hi mate,

The I2C bus can have multiple devices, the subsequent ones will be given a different address. I have no idea how to write python sorry, can’t help you with that. What are you trying to accomplish? Maybe a plugin already exists for you needs.

Hi - thanks it’s just I was researching the lcd and found this post allo-boss-t5903-40.html: