Raspberry Pi - Install on HDD

Hello!

I’m new to Volumio and first of all I want to say thank you for this great project! I installed Volumio yesterday and everything works out of the box or with only little effort. Also the handling is very convenient. I am more than impressed!

There is one little problem left:

For my usecase, I wanted the music stored to a drive directly connected to my Raspberry Pi 3. I therefore bought a WDLabs PiDrive with 1 TB storage. The package also included a 4 GB sd card.

I read, that 4 GB is below the recommended size for the SD card. On the other hand, my hard drive has plenty of space. I therefore reserved a partition of 10 GB on my HDD. However, my problem is, that I don’t know how to make Volumio use this partition.

On other systems, it is enough to copy everything from the root ("/") to the hard drive partition and change

root=/dev/mmcblk0p2

to

root=/dev/sda1

in “/boot/cmdline.txt”

In Volumio this seems to be a bit different.

First of all, there is no root entry in “/boot/cmdline.txt”.

Furthermore (and most likely connected to that), as Volumio primarily works in a ramdisc (I think it does?), it doesn’t seem like a good idea to copy the already mounted files to the hard disc.

My idea would be to copy the content of the sd card to /dev/sda1 and then change something in “/boot/cmdline.txt” - maybe

imgpart=/dev/sda1

but I am quite unsure if this would work.

Can you help me to use the hard drive for my Volumio installation without breaking anything?

Thank you in advance!

No expert here, but I don’t think that things are that simple. Volumio uses Squashfs (have a Google). It would seem to me that you are making a great deal of work for yourself just in order to use your 4GB SD card.

BTW I have seen several posts on the forums where people are using 4GB cards.

Thank you for your reply!

Do you mean use the HDD? I don’t really need want to use the SD card…