questions on how V works prior to deciding upon using it

Dear community,

I got here from a forum suggesting an alternative to my Synology NAS and the DS Audio Player.
A brief explanation of what my current setup is (it does not have to remain this way):

SETUP

• SYNOLOGY DISK STATION (DS112j) NAS (with 1 TB of HIRES FLACs) … connected via:
  • m2tech hiface TWO (USB-S/PDIF Interface) … to a:
  • REGA DAC-R … connected to a:
  • REGA BRIO-R AMP … and the music is controlled / played back via:
  • DS iOS & Android Apps, sometimes also over the broswer on my PC (DS Web-Interface)

MAIN PROBLEMS OF THE SETUP

• DS does not support ReplayGain/VolumeNormalization which makes listening a pain…
  • DS does not support multiple genres

…which all made me realize, this is not the perfect setup for my needs!
I’ve been using this for 3 years, it works, but the two issues make it less and less favorable, especially on Synology support users were asking for those two features for 6 years now, myself filed two support tickets in the last years, nothing happened. This is why i decided to find new solutions, and this is how I got here!

What I completely did not understand about Volumio so far is:

• how does Volumio work, do I need to know linux?
  • why arent there any screenshots at all? anywhere?
  • do i need an extra player, or is Volumio the player? if yes, again: screenshots & features???
  • where is a complete list of all supported features? (ReplayGain, Multiple Genres, Playlists etc.)
  • there is a Android controller, but is there also an iOS controller?
  • but can I also control it from a browser running on no matter what OS (PC/iOS/Android)?
  • the combination with the CuBox-i4Pro sounds interesting, but what I do not get is, how do I add my music library?
  • would I need to connect my SynoNAS with the CuBox?
  • or do I still need the NAS? can I just use the NAS HD with my music collection and connect it via eSATA to the CuBox?