Power issue with PI4 and volumio

Hi everybody,

I am a complete beginner in Pi.
I am trying to set-up an audio streamer with Volumio and a touchscreen + a on/off button.

My set-up is working perfectly without the power management (RS-50-12 Power supply + Pi-SPC + button) when plugged to the USB-C power.

When I plug the power management set-up to the Pi, It starts but then… white screen, grey screen, blincking and then… nothing more. It looks like it is rebooting and then dead.
A video is easier than lots of words

Here is a sketch of my set-up (I haven’t found an esay tool to draft the set-up.)

If you have any ideas, it would really help

B

Volumio Information

Volumio Version: v2.917
Hardware: PI4 + offical touchscreen + Audiophonics pi-SRC + RS-50-12 power supply
DAC: ES9023

what is your voltage and amps of you powersupply the output on the 5volt side not the incomming.
3amp 5.1v should be oke.

Git that. exactly that: 5,1V / 3A

a normal pi power supply would normaly work with this setup.
i have pi4 4gb / official touchscreen and a 3 amp / 5.1 volt power supply and extrenal usb dac.
and works oke.

I know, that’s why I am asking for help…
I will try tomorrow a direct power from the power supply to the PI to see if it comes from the PI-SRC board.

i’m still twisting between power sup or pi-src…

Hi, do you power a Rpi4 + (large) screen + audiohat with a standerd 3A power supply? You should try to measure the actual power delivered to the setup. All these devices combined indeed may lead to a power drop that interferes with the boot process. I have struggled with the same issue in the past. Only the use of a solid SMPS (in my case a Nirvana from Allo) could solve the issue. Can the screen be powered separately?

1 Like

This might be too less.

According to the specs the Audiophonics PI-SBC REG needs to be fed with a supply voltage of at least 7V.

5.1 volt output gvolt, not the input on the pi sbc that’s 12v /4,2 amp if i read it correct.