Plugin versus App+Streaming

Hello,

I’m new to the Volumio’s world and all the possibilities it offers, but I’m very impressed, thanks a lot! I share here my thoughts about plugins versus streaming: please let me know what you think.

On the one hand, like a lot of people here, it would be a dream if Volumio would be adapted to all my specific needs and my way of listening music. For example I’d love to listen to Spotify, Deezer, Youtube, movies,… A lot of these features are listed in this feature collection thread, or this one. Some plugins are under development. While Spotify plugin needs a rewrite due to their new API, as far as I understood. But each plugin needs a lot of work, a lot of specific development, a lot of maintenance because of third party changes,… And a plugin will always have limited features compared to the native service.

On the other hand, I’m piloting Volumio from an Android device: I could imagine that it’s the same for the majority of users (or any Apple device). And I’ve got a Spotify app on it. And a Deezer app. (and YouTube, Dailymotion, VLC, podcast, …).

If I could have a reliable and easy streaming from my Android to Volumio, I’d be able to send the sound from any application to my Volumio. The documentation gives some examples. DLNA and Airplay are available (even if I need to root my Android device, and even if a lot of these apps are not free in their full version).

Lastly, Volumio is doing its own app. While Gi explained that DLNA is being redesigned to work better.

So I’m wondering if we could have a global solution, putting efforts on a reliable streaming (from Android and Apple devices, but why not also from Linux, Windows,…) in an easy way, instead of developing a specific plugin for each need. Why not in a splendid Volumio app?

What do you think?