Playlist problems

Im new to Volumio, so probably me but…
I seem unable to delete playlist items, or reorder items in playlists. Is this normal?
Cheers

Volumio Information

Volumio Version: 2.873
Hardware: Pi3
DAC:Cambridge

you must give us more info if we don’t guess your version we could no say any thing.

Its the latest version. As I said, Im new to it, downloaded it yesterday.

I run my playback directly from files in file folders. I do that mostly because I’m an old fart who thinks setting up playlists is a bigger hassle than setting up file structure. If you’re using playlists (they seem to be m3u8 files that get set up whenever I rip stuff), the order should be controlled by the playlist. You’d probably have to edit the playlist to reorder the playback.

I don’t have an answer for why you can delete selections within Volumio during playback. I never do that, since my file structure is sacrosanct (classical music). But I suspect that if, when I queue up a ton of music, I wanted to eliminate some of the pieces, I should be able to do that.

In fact, I just deleted a track that had already played. So, not sure if that’s anywhere close to what you’re trying to do. BTW, I run rpi4 through a Denon receiver. I never bothered to figure out why I should go with DAC. But I may have mentioned I’m an old fart. :slight_smile:

Yeah Im the same about the file structure, but thats not the play order I want. Im used to Foobar and you can reorder the playlist by just dragging items about. Seems volunio cant.
Then Im bemused by the fact that i cant delete playlist items, say if I double up or something by mistake.
There two things to me make volumio a bit useless for me.
I have a similar set up, a Pi3 connected via USB to a Cambridge amp. That has its own DAC. No idea how that DAC compares to the various ones you can get get either for the Pi or as a standalone. Sounds good to me though.

re-ordering of songs you can do in the queue.