Planning a project (smart/simple audio player) for my handicapped son

Hello together,
I am completely new to volumio! For now, I never used it or played around with it.
My son is physically and mentally disabled.
He is not able to read.
He likes to listen to music and owns a lot of CDs, but he can not change CDs by himself.

I am searching for an audio device and a software, which I can adapt for my handicapped son.
Here is a list of requirements I can think of:

• An audio device that can play mp3 files
  • An audio device that should be turned on/off with a power switch without losing data
  • An audio device that should be controlled by a tablet
  • An audio device that should be updated from remote
  • The hardware should have been tested and certified because my son lives in a special facility and all electrical devices should fulfill certain technical standards.
  • A software, which can handlevmp3 files
  • A software, which is able to categorize mp3 files by its metadata
  • A software, where I can completely adapt the GUI for my son, who is not able to read
  • The GUI should only display symbols for categories, albums, play/pause/stop, previous/next title, next CD/Album, volume +/-, and other …
  • A tablet for controlling should be adapted too … so only the GUI is displayed (similar to kiosk mode).
  • In admin settings it should be possible to set a maximum/minimum volume

Do you think, that I can achieve these requirements with volumio?
Do you have suggestions for hardware?

Thank you for all your help.
Greetings from Bavaria, Germany.

I believe every requirement you have can be met. But the gui probably depends on your own ability to change it, or make an app that can do just what you want it to do.

This could be a bit of a challenge, most devices that are used are based on a raspberry pi or other “tinkering” devices with a DAC. but there are tested /certified devices. The volumio primo might be a good one but it does have it’s cost.

@MobeyDuck