Output is always 44.1 kHz, 16-bit on Tidal i.e. no MQA

Hi,

I’m new to Volumio. Just today I installed the latest version using berry-scripts not knowing the funcionality I was after is just out (!)

I have a Dragonfly Cobalt hooked up to my Pi and it’s working perfectly for local media i.e. the DAC is correctly outputting the media without resampling. But when I try using Tidal, it doesn’t matter if I change the quality, the light is always green and I see the output is 44.1 kHz on MyVolumio/volumio.local. Of course, resampling is deactivated on the Volumio settings.

The issue is I’m unable to play MQA and just saw John Darko do the exact same thing.

Any ideas on what to test and how to fix this?

Thanks in advance!

Volumio Information

Volumio Version: 2.878 (berryboot)
Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4B 2 GB
DAC: AudioQuest Dragonfly Cobalt

The Cobalt is an MQA renderer, it does not do the full MQA decode. From what I understand, Volumio does not have an MQA license so it is not able to do the first MQA unfold to pass off to the Cobalt for further processing.
For MQA to work in Volumio, you need a dac that can do the full MQA decode attached to the Volumio device. That’s my understanding anyway.
There are other ways, like Roon or Audirvana doing the first unfold. You may not want to go that route.

Thanks for the response!

I wasn’t aware Volumio is, apparently, not doing the decoding. I assumed it would because I see an on-off switch for MQA in the settings and saw Darko post he was doing MQA with a similar setup.

Indeed, I wouldn’t want to go the Roon or Audirvana route. I’d be willing to continue the MyVolumio membership, though, if I’m able to play MQA from Tidal without investing in another DAC, which might be wishful thinking if you’re right.

What’s still bugging me is seeing the output is not responsive to quality settings on Tidal. Not that I’d ever want lower quality streaming through Volumio, but I figure something’s off with the compatibility.