New Volumio x86 user, loving it! Review inside.

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to and loving Volumio. I thought I would share my experience of setting it up, a little bit about my system and a sort of mini review.

I just got Volumio x86 setup on my system last night. To my amazement, it recognized and setup my M2tech Hiface 1 asynchronous usb to spdif interface automatically! It works perfectly. After taking awhile to figure out that to setup windows shares on a separate windows 7 machine as a NAS (had to add vers=2.0 to options), I was off to the races. I actually got it running using plex and using dnla first, but the interface was slowish and it didn’t do the web album artwork.

Once I got it running with the network share, I was amazed. This is a huge improvement over my previous setups over multiple dimension.Over the years, I’ve used foobar2000 with the wasapi out plugin and a chromecast audio as my streaming sources. No more…

Foobar + the hiface into my dac sounds good, did gapless playback and was bit perfect, but the interface is terrible and using apple’s remote app (which you can make work reasonably well) is terrible with album artwork and is just badly designed. This is surprising because it’s just the itunes remote and I’m generally a fan of Apple interface design.