New User needs help

Hello,

I am new to Volumino and before I can even install it to anything and try it I have some questions:

(1) Installation on a x86-PC: I already have a linux system running on it and volumino apparently is running on debian Jessie.
==> Is there a *deb package to install volumino on an existing debian system, in parallel to all of my other linux debian applications?

(2) After having installed Volumino on a x86 PC using the download package provided by volumino: how do I use another PC to “log in” into volumino, to control it? I’ve read that I can use any device that has a browser running on it to control volumino.

(3) Apparently, volumino is a kind of “split applications” application - one “audio-hw-host” that will playback the music from lo-spec-HW and the GUI “slave” that I can use to control volumino. Regarding the “slave”: maybe you can write on the HW requirements page that this will run on any Android (even Windows Phone?) device (which Android version is required?) , but the actual APP to control it is not found here on volumino but in Google shop?

Thanks a lot, I plan to try it very soon. It seems it will meet most of my requirements :slight_smile:

Regards,
MusykLover.

Hi MusykLover, and welcome to Volumio & the forum.

Volumio 2 is built with a number of specific package & custom versions of software, and is supplied as an image including the underlying OS & FS. There is no deb package available to install on top of a standard Linux installation.

Any device running a browser can access the Volumio UI at the PC’s IP address. It can also also be accessed from the host PC, android apps & an iOS app.