New to Volumio. No sound yet! Failed to open"alsa"[alsa]; Failed to open ALSA device "hw:2,0"; No such file or directory

Hello.
My first time here. I’m new to Pi’s and Volumio but not to audio engineering (30 years in it so far) and have some Linux and network knowledge.
I have built a Pi 4 (2G RAM) with a Hifi Berry DAC2 PRO (which I am now starting to regret) in to the hifi berry case and with a good 3A PSU. I down loaded and burnt a version 2.882 to a 32G SD card. Connecting the Pi to my home network worked fine, my laptop found the web UI offered by the Pi and it evetually (after some fiddling with folder permissions) found my music on my Synology NAS. Great…No sound though. I am now getting the message “Failed to open"alsa”[alsa]; Failed to open ALSA device “hw:2,0”; No such file or directory" and according to the received wisdom of the forums it would appear I have bought an incompatible DAC. Is this a fault with Hifi-Berry or Volumio’s driver.
I have read that some people have had success with getting audio from this set up. Are there plans from the volumio team to produce a fix for this DAC, or do I need to start again? Not impressed so far with Hifi Berry (have had compatibility problems with their digi I-O and Pi 3 with a work project). I also appreciate I’m quite inexperienced with Pis and may be been overly harsh on both the DAC and the SW, but there does seem to be a long history, which I know I should have looked for. Any help gratefully received.

did you switch I2C Dac option to on and did you select your dac?
if you have problems with that version try the beta 3.xx

Hello DVO
Yes I switched on I2S and then couldn’t find my DAC in the available list. So selected Hifi Berry pro and I have tried a couple of other selections. Thanks for the V3 beta suggestion, will investigate that if I get no further with 2.882

1 Like

what i see it that you have to pick: hifiberry-dacplus
// https://www.hifiberry.com/docs/data-sheets/datasheet-dac2-pro/