NAS, Streamer or Local/USB Drive

Hi,

I’m a long term IT professional and longer music lover, I don’t like the term audiophile, but at the end is what I’m.

Since late '90s I’m playng around with computer reproducing music, first was macintosh then in 2005 I met squeezebox and i liked so much that most of the music I listen to today come from some sort of SB, while the best - of course - still come from my turntable.

Good old black disks apart, I really believe a good digital setup could let us enjoy our music in a very convenient way and the way squeezebox environment has grown to be is probably the best in functionality and reliability. More than this and thanks to volunteers from the large squeezebox users community it’s open to be used in hardware starting from 30 US$, for free.

Volumio is making thing lot easier now and you could have a very good, full funcional squeezebox in minutes on every hw supported by Volumio.

Cool!

But, what about sound quality?

I think is impossible full answer to this question: too many hardware, operating systems, software, network, dac, cable,… combinations are in play, moreover sound quality is a matter of perception and taste, so is higly subjective.

What I could say is that in my experience, in systems I’ve tried and for my personal point of …listening I’ve never felt squeezelite (the software emulator player) sounding worse than other players in the same environment (both audio and pc/networking system). Not that all the sofware players sounds the same to me, but differences are minimal and really smaller than the ones I could feel switching the hardware (same audio system, same network, same files, same software player but different hardware to me could sound different even if all of them output a bit perfect stream).

Strange? I don’t know, but this moved me to try to understand.