My experience getting volumio going

I recently had to retire my Squeezebox Classic (v3) that was rebooting consistently after playing a couple of tracks. I needed a network player solution and as I searched for options came across solutions built on the Raspberry Pi. I am up for some DIY and it seemed like a fun project.

I set up my Pi this past week and I thought I would share my experience. My intent is not to promote myself as the authority on this topic, but in my trials I found numerous forum posts and websites as resources. I thought it would be helpful to compile my findings into a single place to help other vagabonds on this generally geeky journey to digital audio bliss.

Some Background

I’m new to the Raspberry Pi, but not new to computers. I have a general working knowledge of Linux (Ubuntu), which means I sort of know where some things are, and what they do. However, I don’t have deep knowledge of what each option, flag, or tool does.

In my research I discovered Raspyfi and explored enough of the situation to believe it would work. I read extensively about the USB problems (pops and skips) that occurred up through May 2013 when that pesky USB bug was fixed. It seemed clear that after that date folks were fairly happy with Raspyfi audio quality. It was a go.

Obviously when visiting Raspyfi you will see the pop-up for the volumio project. I figured it was the way to go considering it is the future of the platform. I assume volumio is taking things learned from Raspyfi and evolving it in a good direction.

As I haven’t used or tested Raspyfi I can’t speak to its capabilities or lack there-of. My efforts have been to get volumio going.

Hardware

Raspberry Pi, Model B
CY Raspberry Pi Case (blue)
EDIMAX EW7811Un - USB Wifi
USB Power supply (5V, 1500mA)
Rotel RA-1570 Integrated Amplifier w/ USB 2.0 DAC

Notes:

• General consensus is to use external power, don’t use USB bus power for something like this.