MultiRoom Airplay

I was just introduced to Vaolumio about a week and a half ago, so I’m no expert. First off, my apologies if this has already been covered but after days of research, I wasn’t able to find a definitive guide on how to set up Airplay with SnapCast. I did find many posts dated a year ago about how it wouldn’t work with the current build but nothing more recent. SO… here we go. This is based on a lot of other people’s work and a bunch of poking around and resetting to “factory” defaults.

Before doing anything open Volumio in the web browser and enable ssh (adding “\dev” after the URL)

Open us a SSH session in your favorite console
Remove the current shairport-sync install

sudo rm /usr/local/bin/shairport-sync

Do not remove anything else. Mikebrady’s github recommends a cleaner uninstall but apparently, some of the config files have been customized for Volumio and aren’t rebuilt correctly.

Reboot

We have to download a bunch of dev tools that aren’t in this release so we can download buildessentials later,

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list

Add
deb Index of /raspbian stretch main contrib non-free rpi

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install binutils
sudo apt-get install libstdc+±4.9-dev
sudo apt-get install gcc-4.9 gcc g+±4.9 g++ dpkg-dev
sudo apt-get install xmltoman

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list

Remove the depository added above

sudo apt-get update

More dev tools

sudo apt install build-essential git autoconf automake libtool libpopt-dev libconfig-dev libasound2-dev avahi-daemon libavahi-client-dev libssl-dev libsoxr-dev

Download the repository

git clone /mikebrady/shairport-sync.git  

cd shairport-sync

autoreconf -fi

Rebuild without ALSA. The only way I could get this to work was without it. (Stdout is probably not needed because we are going to use the pip output but this how I did it and after a week a fussing with it I wasn’t going to try again)