Mounting My NAS

Hello.

I’m having difficulty mounting my NAS. I am a complete novice when it comes to this sort of thing. Can someone tell me exactly what I am supposed to type in all of the fields that are in the mounting of the NAS. The error messages I am getting are all like “mount: mount point /mnt/NAS/Seagate-3F8985 does not exist”

My entry looks like this

Source Name “Seagate-3F8985”
fileshare protocol “SMB/CIFS”
IP Address (I’ve entered the IP address of my NAS)
remote directory “Public/Music”
Username (my login for the NAS)
Password (my password for the NAS)

I’m sorry if this problem is basic. I have been trying for 2 nights with no luck.

Try with

Source Name “Seagate”
fileshare protocol “SMB/CIFS”
IP Address (I’ve entered the IP address of my NAS)
remote directory “Public/Music”
Username (my login for the NAS)
Password (my password for the NAS)

The error is very likely to be produced by the name Seagate-3F8985, this field is just for your naming convenience, so doesn’t really matter how you call it, but the - is not acceptable as a folder name.
Let me know ! :wink:

That does not work either. I have tried on my laptop and android device with no luck. Any other ideas?

Thanks

The error message is “mount.nfs: mount point /mnt/NAS/Seagate does not exist”

I was able to find the cause of my problem. I had installed 1.2Beta on my Pi. I deleted this and installed 1.1 and it worked right away.

Although I am considering trying xbmc instead (if high resolution files are supported). The UI does not allow me to select an album/track and play. It has to be played through a playlist. I am not keen on the idea of running playlists. We will see I suppose. The project is very good but it may not suit my own needs and I thought you might like the feedback.

Thanks again.