Missing music in library / Folder access

Hi,

I’m new to VOLUMIO…so please don’t beat me if some of my questions sound a bit stupid :blush:

So far, I got the system working on a Tinkerboard and I managed to get Tidal and Qobuz running. Still struggling to get the NAS recognized, but I did not try hard and so far, I’m using a USB drive with my music.

I can scan the drive, find a lot of music (it’s 1.5T), but a significant part is not visible. I understand that Linux is a bit more tricky if it comes down to file names and special characters. Some of the music was copied via a Linux system from an internal hard drive, some I did copy via my MAC using Pandorra to access the USB drive.

I had a similar problem with the old Linux based system (that’s why I’m looking for a new and better solution), but I could access my music via the file structure of my hard drive and so even files that did not get properly recognized during the scanning, I could play.
On Volumio I can go to the library on the homepage, but that does not really show me the structure of my hard drive.

So my questions are:

Is there a way to access the file structure?

How can I find out why so many folders are missing in the scanning?

Do I have to give the files some special rights after I transferred them from my Mac to the USB drive?

The Tinkerboard is only a start, my final system will be a small computer with no fan from MSI with an M2 SSD for booting and internal hard drive for storing music. The system should drive a pretty High-End setup in my listening room (I’m running a company for designing speakers).