Low budget build for secondary system?

Hey,

Please bare with me, complete noob to DIY audio.

I’m looking to build a fairly cheap volumio based system for my bedroom. I’d like it to sound decent, but don’t care about audiophile level sound, etc. The alternative would be to buy a standalone smart speaker like Google Home Max (though it is very expensive).

I can buy components from ebay, aliexpress, amazon.

Thought about using polk t15 or Micca MB42 as speakers, but have no clue about the rest (pi3 w or pi zero w, which dac/amp, psu, etc).

Would appreciate any help.

If I wouldn’t have had a spare cubox-i and a HiFi receiver to connect it to, I’d have done my volumio setup on the following system:

• raspberry pi zero W (+ 4GB SD card)
  • pHAT DAC
  • since you mentioned passive speakers in your post, maybe get a mini power amp (google “nobsound”, I haven’t tried these myself but it seems this kind of amps is cheap, decent and compact. Of course there will be many brands out there offering exactly the same with similar price but different brand name)

Alternatively to the speakers you mentioned, you could consider getting active speakers, it’ll be (a bit) easier cabling, slightly more expensive but possibly better sound, especially in the >€100 range, where the power amp characteristics matched with the speaker hardware may start to be noticeable.

You can easily get all this (including the amp, excluding the speakers) for around €50.

It should be quite easy to connect it all up, there’s tons of great instructions on the net.

Good luck!

Thank you for all the details.

Are there any noticeable performance difference using the Pi Zero rather than Pi3?

Also, I’m trying to stay low budget (part of the fun in this project). Would pairing the zero, dac and bookshelf speakers together with a Class-D amp board (I see these run for 10-15$ on ebay) work and sound well?

Also - what about a recommended low budget PSU if I’m going on the passive route?