Lots of newbie questions about making a player

Hello guys.
I’m a newbie in terms of Raspberry usage but I’ve got an idea to create a player based on the Volumio/Volumio2 Pi 3B+ and I need some help.
I think it would be quite good option to ask all of you to help me to create one complex guide of making a player with all the links to the hardware, software, descriptions and implementation methods.
Of course I can try to find all the info by myself but I thought for a moment that it will be useful to ask for help from the more experienced and qualified members of the community, get as many info as possible on the topic and systematize it all here afterwards for any other people like me.
It is important to remember that despite of me wanting the device sound and work good I also want it as cheap as possible. So – no sacrifices by the means of sound and usability, but preferably without all the unnecessary bells and whistles except the scheme. I suppose such things as Allo’s reclockers and isolators are ones. Some of them supposedly do what can be achieved by cheaper means. The benefits of other of them are quite uncertain – and of course you are free to try to change my mind here.

Here is a simplified scheme of what I want to achieve:
[spoiler]where to post images[/spoiler]
And here are the questions:

1. Power source unit
    [spoiler]I’ve heard a bunch of recommendations to use a linear PSU instead of switching one. Not quite cheap option though. But I’ve managed to salvage some transformers from a broken Yamaha receiver:

+14V – 0 – -14V / 0 – 7.5V / 0 – 9.5V / 0 – 5V and +26V – 0 – -26V / +33V – 0 – -33V
    Don’t know how much amps are there.

And from some old French amplifier:
2x 0 – 38.4V
1.56A

Are there any ways of using these?

What is preferred to be installed between the power socket and the transformer (fuses, filters, something else)?