Issues with I2S DAC

Volumio Information

Volumio Version: (not sure)
Hardware: Raspberry Pi 2
DAC: ES9023

Hi,

I’m new to Volumio and I’m comming From RuneAudio (due to it’s discountinued support and lack of features). I have a hardware consisting of Raspberry PI 2, ES9023 I2S DAC, Arduino Nano, 20x4 LCD display, USB hub, Wi-Fi adapter and power supply. All this was working very well with RuneAudio and mostly continued to work when I tried Volumio with all the hardware connected “in the air”. Then I decided to build a housing and integrate everything inside but after that, I was not able to get the DAC working anymore. After further investigation, I discovered that I made a mistake with connections and that I sent +5V on the DAC where I shouldn’t. Since it wasn’t working even after I fixed the connections (just some noise and occasional distorted sound), I concluded that the DAC got destroyed so I ordered a new one, exactly this one: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000600464159.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.39fc4c4dSlEITv

But I can’t get it to work at all. I tried all configuration combinations with multiple reboots between testing but no success, there’s no sound from the DAC (except some humming) at all. The 3.5 mm output works fine. I tried to format my SD card and install Volumio from scratch but without success.

What am I doing wrong? Which configuration should I use for this DAC? Does anybody have a correct schematic for Raspberry Pi 2 and this DAC? I was struggling a little bit with finding the correct pins and I think that one of the pins on DAC remained unconnected but I read somewhere that it’s not needed for Raspberry Pi.

I also asked my friend to borrow me an oscilloscope to test if the signal is coming to the DAC at all but first I would like to make sure that all connections and settings are correct.

Thank you in advance!