Isn't expensive audio gear just snake oil?

Hear me out I am not saying good quality audiogear is useless far from it. But aren’t some of the speakers and amps you see completely useless? If someone really wanted studio quality gear wouldn’t it be better to just buy the hardware used in a studio instead? Do studios even use $100,000 gear? All I am saying is that isn’t it useless for the audiophiles that go overboard and buy the most expensive gear wasting their money since the studios do not even use that?

You’ll be slated for that comment lol, but yes you are correct (now I’ll be slated as well)

I watched a recent video about the Leak CD Transport, the reviewer stated that he could hear a difference between that and a $2.5k Transport, as both systems are outputting the same digital stream that is impossible.

As I’m not a sound engineer I don’t know how tarcks are mastered, is it to the best that equipment can be, or is it to sound the best on the biggest income stream equipment ie, a 1950’s recording was probably played mainly on a Dansette record player, if so, when played on any higher quality equipment you are not hearing what was meant to be

Also, if you need 1" diameter speaker cables for your speakers, why haven’t they done the same for headphones?

A lot is the placebo effect, the kings cloths or snakeoil - take your pick on the analogy

But, if you have the money, room etc, why not spend it on gear - most of us do the same with property and cars anyway

Talking about gear and “sources” :wink: