IJskegel from The Netherlands says hi

Hi all,

First of all I wish everyone a happy and healthy 2021!

Because of the situation in the world I had and still have to work from home. I’m a software developer and like to listen to music (ripped CDs and webradio) while coding. I did not want to use the laptop from work for this as they would rather not have me install software on it unless absolutely necessary to do my job. So the first couple of months I used an old laptop, connected my iFi Zen Dac to it and enjoyed listening to music using my DT770 headphones. Unfortunately that laptop runs hot very quickly and makes the fan spin almost always at max RPM making an annoying sound. That made me look for an alternative solution. While browsing the web I stumbled upon volumio and installed it on an ancient raspberry pi 1 B I had lying around. The install process was very easy: download the image, write it to an SD card, startup the pi and configure the network. It worked perfectly and to my surprise the pi was actually able to power the iFi Zen Dac through USB without any problems. The biggest surprise was the quality of the sound, it was way better than when I used the old laptop. The only ‘problem’ I had was that the UI of volumio was not very responsive, which was to be expected from this old hardware.