Help setting up an internal Hard Drive as a music Source

I am very new to Volumio and fairly new to Linux although can use terminal if I follow instructions :slight_smile:
I am trying to re-purpose an Acer Aspire L3000 Mini PC as a Volumio Server for a friend. The device has an 80gb internal SATA hard drive (due to be increased in size) for storing his music files.

The problem I am having is adding the internal drive as a music source. There are responses on this forum how to add and mount an internal drive by establishing the drive ID, creating a mount point and editing fstab files etc. All these instructions fall short when trying to access the information from within a booted instance of Volumio2. Ironically the system can see the internal hard drive and even recognises its make but no where can I find its ID or how to access a terminal prompt to run commands. I am booted from a usb stick with the latest Volumio image and connected directly to the PC.
Is it in fact possible to run terminal commands when directly connected to the server rather than from a remote device.
Absolutely no criticism intended for what at first look seems a rather polished music server, but I find it strange that a simple task of adding an internal hard drive is so complicated when distros like OpenElec allow you to select internal drives via the gui.
How do I establish the disk ID and create a mount point in Volumio or do I have to use something else to achieve this?
ps the internal drive is formatted EXT3 with a single partition. Is this an issue?
Many thanks
Fozzie

Have you simply tried to browse music library/internal ?