Hard-core multiroom

Hello all, I live a love story with volumio and snapcast since a few months…
I even fully redeveloped an UI on the NEEO diy remote using there excellent socket.io APi and jsonrpc for snapcast.
https://youtu.be/9Z_wd0l7iyM
(just to show I am not a complete noob).
BUT there is still a problem I can’t wrap my head around, it is the multi-stream multi-room.
Today I have great multi-room with one volumio and snapcast server playing to my various snapcast clients (Raspberries or old Android TV boxes) but I can play only ONE song to many endpoints, not many different songs…

My idea was to have multiple volumio instances in my various PIs and have the snapclient switch but the API doesn’t allow to do it.
Other option would be to have other mpd instances inside volumio but then, how to control these instances?
Finally a last option I can think of but going beyond my knowledge is to use lms as a server as it allows multiroom multistream apparently.
In this case, would that mean dropping volumio? Can I use it as a client?

You can use LMS and use iPeng, that way you can send music to a lot of clients, via AirPlay, Chromecast and I belive even DNLA, you can also install the Squeezelite player and send music to your Volumio.

You can only stream one instance of a player to one pipe output. I.e. one MPD instance can only output a single song to a single pipe.

You could however use various players: Spotify (possibly multiple instances), Tidal, Qobuz, MPD etc. and have them output to their own pipe. Then you would have x pipes containing music (by lack of better phrasing). Snapserver is able to serve multiple pipes to streams.

Then you are able to ‘subscribe’ any client to any of the streams and switch streams if and when you want.