First Volumio Streamer Issues

I’ll start off by apologizing as this is my first ever forum post and I’m a complete newbie with Volumio and Raspberry Pi’s. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The Raspberry Pi 4 is my first network streamer and when it works it works great. I got the streamer up and running with a few hiccups but now I’m starting to see issues almost every time I use the device. For example, I have connected Volumio to my Spotify and Tidal accounts and I have local music downloaded to the SD card but it’s hit or miss as to if I get audio out of the device. Usually first I’ll try Tidal connect to get music playing out of the Pi, I go into the Tidal App, use Tidal connect to talk to Volumio, and sometimes it connects no issues, sometimes after I click connect, Volumio disappears and it won’t find it again. If this happens, I’ll head over to Spotify to use Spotify connect with the Pi. Nearly every time I have issues with Tidal I’m also having issues with Spotify as well. It usually does the same thing, it recognizes Volumio, I connect to it, it will spin for a minute trying to connect to the Pi, and then give up and Volumio disappears from the list of available devices. Sometimes I’ve had success going into MyVolumio and then going to Spotify/Tidal and playing music but this is also hit/miss. Next, I’ll try playing music I’ve downloaded to the SD card and 9 times out of 10 when I select a song for the Pi to play I get this error message “Failed to open “alsa” [alsa]: Failed to open ALSA device “softvolume”: No such file or directory” and it won’t play any tracks. This happens on both DAC/AMPs that I use - I’ve tried A/B testing and it appears to happen to both for any/all reasons.

The only way I’ve figured to get around this is to wait…shutting the Pi on and off multiple times, logging in/out of volumio, and lastly changing up the inputs (USB to HDMI to headphones). Sometimes each of these fixes work, sometimes they don’t…there’s no predictability.