FIRST STEPS: no hotspot found

Hello. I’ve just flashed the latest version of Volumio on a USB stick.

My idea is to connect it to an old tablet running a Linux distro and then use a Dragonfly DAC to stream Tidal Connect on the hifi sytsem of my dad. I don’t know if I’ll be able, I’m a total newbie in all these things. By now all I have is the tablet with Manjaro OS running decently and Volumio on a USB.
Now, I’m blocked.
No Volumio hotspot detected, I don’t have a Wi-fi connection but I use the Internet through my phone’s hotspot so no ethernet chance. I don’t understand if there’s something stupid I didn’t understand about running Volumio. I insert the USB in my Windows PC and also in the Linux tablet but nothing happens, no network, no way to connect to volumio.local.

What am I doing wrong? Why there’s no Volumio hotspot?

Thanks for your help.

Hello @claudiad ! Welcome!
I’m not sure to understand what you want to do, but Volumio is an OS, not an app.
So you have to download a version x86 for a PC, or a version for a supported HW (rpi, asus thinkerboard)
Then, you boot with it.

Thanks, the boot part was what I forgot hahah. I downloaded the x86 version and thought that, as there’s Linux on the tablet, I’d be able to choose to boot Volumio, is that wrong? Do I have to buy a Raspberry Pi as supported hardware? However, now I try.
The idea is to make a cheap music streamer for Tidal Connect, is there chance I can do it?

It is not because Linux is running on your tablet that this is x86…
Probably a specific arm version, unsupported by volumio.
You can test X86 version on your PC, no need to install, or from a virtual machine (VirtualBOX is fine).
And for a cheap streamer a RPI is the best way… My 2 cent, a RPI zero requires some additionnal hw (wifi) and ar not very powerful even if users report is fine.